All visitors entering Laos must possess valid passports. Visa can be obtained from Lao Embassies and Consulates abroad. In addition, visa can be obtained on arrival at the international checkpoint.

30 days visas are available in advance of arrival at Lao embassies. This can be done in several ways through a tour company recognized by the Lao PDR from Lao Embassies or Consulate in countries such as: Australia, Belgium, Brunei, Cambodia, Cuba, PR of China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, DPR of Korea, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Sweden, Thailand, United States and Vietnam.

The visa fee varies from between US$8- $42 depending on the agreement with the various governments.

For those wishing to extend their stay, it is possible to extend your visa at the Immigration Office in Vientiane or through travel agencies.

It is also possible to obtain a Visa-on-Arrival at the following international checkpoints:

    China (Mohan) - Luang Namtha Province (Boten)

    Thailand (Chiang Khong) - Bokeo Province (Houay Xay)

    Thailand (Nong Khay) - Vientiane Capital ( Friendship Bridge )

    Thailand - Xayabouly Province ( Nam Heuang Friendship Bridge )

    Thailand (Nakhon Phanom) - Khammouane Province (Thakhaek)

    Thailand (Moukdahan) - Savannakhet Province (Friendship Bridge II)

    Thailand (Chong Mek) - Champasak Province (Vang Tao)

    Vietnam (Nam Kanh) - Xieng Khouang Province (Nong Haet)

    Vietnam (Kao Cheo) - Bolikhamxay (Nam Phao)

    Vietnam (Lao Bao) - Savannakhet Province (Dene Savanh)

    Wattay International Airport (Vientiane capital)

    Pakse International Airport (Champasack Province )

    Luang Prabang International Airport (Luang Prabang)







International Airports:

Laos has three International Airports:

- Wattay International Airport in Vientiane.
- Luang Prabang International Airport in
Luang Prabang Province.
- Pakse International Airport in Champasack Province.

A departure tax of US$ 10 is levied for international flights, while a 5000-kips tax is levied for domestic flights.


Border check points:


China Laos

-        Mohan - Botene , Yunnan to Luang Namtha Province .

-        Xiangkok riverport on Mekong River in Luang Namtha Province (no visa on    arrival).


Thai Laos

-        Chiangkhong - Houixay, Chiang Rai to Bokeo Province .

-        Nakaxeng - Kaenthao, Loei to Sayabouly Province .

-        Nongkhay - Friendship Bridge , Nongkhay-Vientiane Capital.

-        Bungkan - Pakxan, Nongkhay- Bolikhamxay Province
(no visa on arrival).

-        Nakorn Phanom - Thakhaek, Nakorn Phanom-Khammouane

-        Moukdahan - Savannakhet, crossing the Mekong River by boat.

-        Chongmek - Vangtao, Ubol Ratchathani to Champasack Province .


Vietnam Laos

-        Taichang - Sobhoun, Laichau to Phongsaly Province
(no visa on arrival).

-        Nameo - Banleui, Thanh Hoa to Huaphanh Province .

-        Namkan - Namkan, Nge An to Xieng Khouang Province .

-        Keoneua - Nampao (Lak Sao), Ha tinh to Bolikhamxay Province.

-        Napao - Chalo, Quangbinh to Khammouane Province
(no visa on arrival).

-        Laobao - Dansavanh, Quang tri to Savannakhet Province .


Cambodia Laos

-        Dong Calor - Veun Kham , Cambodia to Champasack Province.





For more info, please contact us:

Copyright 2007  All rights reserved.